InMotion 2012

InMotion 2012

Words and photos by Vinnie Nguyen

We’ve had a great season filled with many shows and different events. What better way to end it than to end it with a huge show displaying best cars in the Northwest and a huge drift event? and Evergreen Drift teamed up and did a great job on putting together InMotion, the last big event of the season. While the drifting was held on the track, the show was housed by Evergreen’s brand new Evergreen Events Center.

I don’t remember the last time I was at a big indoor car event here in the Pacific Northwest. I recall Hot Import Nights coming up here and holding events but that was back in 2008. The Northwest was missing something like this for the longest time and I’m glad that NWMotiv and Evergreen Drift brought it back. I know that there are already plans for InMotion 2013 and I’m excited for it.

As for the event itself, it was nothing short of awesome. The cars were clean and there was a good atmosphere. Seeing all the work that everyone put into their cars inspires me to hopefully be in their places next year.

The car scene here in the Pacific Northwest is growing and it’s constantly changing. We have a lot to offer and there are people who are willing to push the envelope and be bold with their mods. And I personally love going to different events like these because despite the differences that they may have, everyone interacts with one another because of a common interest.

Congratulations to all of those who won awards and to those who took 1st, 2nd, and 3rd in the drift competition! I can’t wait to see what’s in store for next years season and of course, InMotion 2013!

Drift Winners

1st Place – Kyle Pollard
2nd Place – Victor Moore
3rd Place – Matt Vankirk

Car Show Winners

3rd Place 2dr Street BRIAN VERDECCHIA 2009 Mazda RX-8
2nd Place 2dr Street ANDY NISSEN-BARBER 2002 BMW M3
1st Place 2dr Street RANDY OLIVAREZ 2007 Honda S2000
3rd Place 4dr Street WAYNE NG 2008 Infiniti G Sedan
2nd Place 4dr Street JOSHUA NIANEKEO 1990 Toyota Cressida
1st Place 4dr Street ANDREW LOUANGPHAKDY 1996 Honda Civic Sedan
3rd Place 2dr Mild MICHAEL HEASLEY 1991 Nissan 240 SX
2nd Place 2dr Mild RAINIER DELEON 2000 Honda Civic Hatchback
1st Place 2dr Mild STEVE KWAN 1996 Honda Civic Hybrid
3rd Place 4dr Mild JUSTIN WALLACE 2000 Lexus GS 300
2nd Place 4dr Mild KATIE SMITH 2004 Subaru Impreza
1st Place 4dr Mild JENNIFER WINTRODE 2004 Subaru Forester
Best Engine JUSTIN MARCH 1979 Honda Civic Sedan
Best Paint DERRICK BRUCE 2000 Chevrolet S-10
Best Interior MEL DIEGO 2004 Honda Civic Coupe
Best Luxury KENJI NISHIMURA 1999 Lexus GS 300
Best VIP YOGI SONG 1999 Mercedes Benz S320 LWB
Best Functional Fitment MICHAEL HEASLEY 1991 Nissan 240 SX
Best Static Stance HENRY CHAN 2005 Subaru WRX STI
Best Air Ride Stance MIKE TOLLIVER 2006 Audi A8
Best Old School JUSTIN MARCH 1979 Honda Civic Sedan
Best Team Overall MENACE
Best Team Quality TRIKSPEED
Best Bike JOHN MORIMOTO 2011 Ducati 848 EVO
Best Track/Race PATRICK WIDNER 2010 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution
Best Female Build AMANDA PLUMMER 2006 Scion tC
Best ICE BRANDON OLSON 2000 Lincoln Navigator
Best Body Work TRAVIS MCPEAK 1995 Honda Accord Coupe
Judges Choice MEL DIEGO 2004 Honda Civic Coupe
Sponsors Choice JEFF DIAZ 1998 Acura Integra
4th Place Show KEN EDWARDS 2004 Nissan 350 Z
3rd Place Show FELIX YUEN 2007 Honda Fit
2nd Place Show CHRIS KENNING 2008 Volkswagen GTI
1st Place Show JAMARRI WHITESIDE 2006 Subaru WRX STI
Best of Show TRAVIS MCPEAK 1995 Honda Accord Coupe

Gallery not found. Please check your settings.